Profile photos - Abbott, Jackman

Abbott, Jackman to join AAN’s 2023 Class of Fellows

The American Academy of Nursing (AAN) will welcome 10 members of the Columbia Nursing community to its 2023 Class of Fellows this fall. 

Two faculty, Maura Abbott, PhD, assistant dean, clinical affairs and associate professor, and Kasey Jackman, PhD ’17, assistant professor, will be inducted at the academy’s annual Health Policy Conference, to be held Oct. 5-7, 2023, in Washington, DC.  

Eight additional Columbia Nursing alumni will also become fellows:   

  • Vanessa Battista, MS ’08 
  • Edith Brous, MS ’95 
  • Lucinda Canty, BS ’91 
  • Gloria Chan, DNP ’22 
  • Yamnia Cortes, PhD ’15 
  • John Nelson (Certificate, 1996) 
  • Olivia Velez, PhD ’11 
  • Lorrie Wong, MS ’88 

This year’s class of 253 distinguished nurse leaders—the largest yet—come from 40 states and the District of Columbia, and 13 countries.  

“It gives me great pride to welcome these incredible leaders into our organization during our 50th anniversary year,” AAN President Kenneth White said in an AAN press release. “This year’s group of inductees truly represents today’s thought leaders and the diversity of our profession’s policy leaders, practitioner, educators, and innovators.” 

For more about this year’s inductees, read the AAN announcement