Honors, Awards, and Other News April 2014

August 5, 2014


  • Jennifer Dohrn, DNP, CNM, director, Office of Global Initiatives, authored “Building Nurse and Midwifery Capacity in Malawi: A Partnership between the Government of Malawi and the PEPFAR/Nursing Education Partnership Initiative (NEPI),” a chapter in Transforming the Global Health Workforce.
  • Haomiao Jia, PhD, associate professor of biostatistics, was an author of “Translating Using RE-AIM of a Falls Behavior Change Program among an Assisted Living Population,” published in Family & Community Health.
  • Kristine Kulage, MA, MPH, director, office of scholarship and research development, authored “Strategies for Growing Your Department’s Scholarly and Research Enterprise,” published in NCURA magazine.

Honors and Presentations

  • Suzanne Bakken, PhD, RN, FAAN, FACMI, Alumni Professor of the School of Nursing and Professor of Biomedical Informatics; Director, Center for Evidence-based Practice in the Underserved was named a member of Columbia University’s task force created to help the university plan for new scientific advances in the areas of genomics, data science, and the core science and engineering disciplines.
  • Rita Marie John, DNP, EdD, director, Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Program, presented “Pediatric Mental Health Specialist Certification Review,” and “Pedialabs for the New PNP,” at The National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners (NAPNAP) annual conference in Boston.
  • Jeff Kwong, DNP, MPH, ANP-BC, program director, Adult-Gerontology Nurse Practitioner Program, presented “Managing Adverse Effects in the HIV/HCV Co-Infected Patient,” at the International Conference on Viral Hepatitis, in New York, NY.
  • Marlene McHugh, DNP, ACHPN, DCC, was named a Fellow in Palliative Care Nursing by the Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association Board of Directors at a plenary session in San Diego.


  • The Distinguished Alumni Award (DAA) Committee has announced the following recipients for 2014: Kathleen “Katie” Barnes ’89 (Distinguished Career in Policy and Education); Margaret Mabrey Craig ’64 (Distinguished Career in Policy and Education); Charlotte Munck, Class of 1909 (Distinguished Alumni Award In Memoriam); Rachel Lyons ’07 (Distinguished Career In Education); Susan Levy Masciatelli ’74 (Distinguished Career in Administration); Beth Oliver ’91 (Distinguished Career in Administration). The DAA Committee is co-chaired by Angela Clarke Duff ’70 and Joan Hagan Arnold ’69. Members are Sarah Sheets Cook ’05, Maria Magliacano ’06, Carol Thomas Martin ’63 and Penelope Reilly ’72. The DAA ceremony will take place during Alumni Reunion on Friday, May 2.
  • The Office of Global Initiatives hosted three visitors from Taishan Medical University School of Nursing in China.