Headshots of nine faculty and alumni FAAN inductees.

American Academy of Nursing Inducts Nine Faculty and Alumni as Fellows

August 19, 2020

On August 6, the American Academy of Nursing (AAN) announced that it has selected three Columbia Nursing faculty members to join its 2020 Class of Fellows, to be inducted at the Academy’s annual policy conference taking place virtually on October 29 - 31: Billy Caceres, PhD, assistant professor; Stephen Ferrara, DNP, associate professor and associate dean of clinical affairs; and Jingjing Shang, PhD, professor. Together, 20 Columbia Nursing faculty members are AAN Fellows.

In addition to Caceres, Ferrara, and Shang, the following alumni were inducted: Lorie Goshin, PhD '10; Ann Margaret Navarra, PhD '11; Po-Yin Pen, PhD '10; Annie Rohan, PhD '13; Victoria Tiase, MS '06; and Dian Traisci-Marandola, MS '81.

“We congratulate all of our new faculty and alumni inductees on receiving this most distinguished honor” said Dean Lorraine Frazier.

Read the Announcement

AAN Fellows and Selection Process

AAN Fellows are leaders in education, management, practice, policy, and research, and show a deep commitment to the promotion of public health through evidence and innovation. Induction into the Academy is a significant milestone in a nurse leader’s career in which their accomplishments are honored by their colleagues within the profession.

Fellows are selected through a competitive and rigorous process, in which they submit evidence demonstrating significant contributions to increasing access to care, reducing care costs, and improving quality through nursing theory, practice, and science.

Learn More About AAN Fellows


The AAN serves the public and the nursing profession by advancing health policy, practice, and science through organizational excellence and effective nursing leadership. Their membership includes more than 2,700 Fellows, who are nursing’s most accomplished leaders.

Learn More About the AAN